Johns Hopkins University shield and motto
December 14, 2020


JHU Honors Three on Carey Faculty

Why it matters:

Richard Milter, Tinglong Dai, and Jian Ni are named as recipients in the latest round of the annual Discovery and Catalyst awards from Johns Hopkins University.

Article Highlights

  • Milter, Dai projects among 41 selected for Discovery Awards.
  • Ni one of 36 recipients of Catalyst Awards.
  • Carey faculty members routinely recognized in awards programs launched in 2015.

COVID-19: Business and Economic Impact

Read the latest news and commentary from our faculty experts.

Learn more

Three members of the Carey Business School faculty were named in the latest round of Johns Hopkins annual awards recognizing the work of university researchers.

Management and organization specialist Professor Richard Milter and Associate Professor Tinglong Dai, an expert in operations management and business analytics, are members of separate research teams that have received Discovery Awards. The honor aims to support research projects involving JHU faculty members from across disciplines and university divisions.

In addition, Associate Professor Jian Ni received a Catalyst Award, a yearly honor given by the university to early-career JHU faculty members whose work has shown originality and has made an impact in their respective fields.

Milter and faculty colleagues from the schools of education, medicine, nursing, and public health share a Discovery Award for their project “From Jedi Knight to Jedi Master: Discovering the New Master of Health Professions Educator Leader.”

Dai and colleagues from the schools of engineering and medicine were recognized for their project “Emulating How Experts Think … Under Unknown Objectives and Constraints: Augmenting Machine Learning though Inverse Optimization to Automatically Generate Personalized Treatment Plans.” 

What to Read Next


Theirs were among 41 projects selected this year for Discovery Awards. Each project team can apply for up to $100,000 to explore a new area of collaborative work with an emphasis on preparing for an externally funded large-scale grant or cooperative agreement.

Ni’s specialty is empirical and theoretical analysis of the health care, pharmaceutical, financial services, environmental and energy, and technology industries, as well as emerging markets. The Catalyst Award provides each of this year’s 36 recipients with a $75,000 grant, mentoring opportunities, and institutional recognition.

Introduced in 2015, the Discovery and Catalyst award programs have annually recognized at least two members of the Carey Business School faculty.

Discover Related Content