Colleen Stuart named recipient of JHU Discovery Award

Carey researcher specializes in collaborative work, social networks, and diversity

Colleen Stuart

Carey Business School Assistant Professor Colleen Stuart, an expert in collaborative work, social networks, and diversity, was named one of the recipients of the annual Discovery Awards announced recently by Johns Hopkins University.

This year, 32 Discovery Awards were given to interdisciplinary faculty teams across 12 units of the university. The winning project teams — selected from 222 proposals — include 120 individuals representing 12 Johns Hopkins entities, according to The Hub, the university’s news website. 

Stuart (right) is taking part in a project titled “Collaborative for Gender Equity and Empowerment in Education and Labor Systems,” with colleagues from the Johns Hopkins schools of public health, nursing, and education. 

“This year's proposals attested to the intellectual creativity and collaborative spirit of our university," said Ronald J. Daniels, president of Johns Hopkins University. "With these awards, faculty will have the freedom to pursue new avenues for discovery with colleagues across our community and to take up the most pressing questions we face as a society.”

Introduced in 2015, the Discovery Awards aim to create new interactions among investigators across the university. Teams can apply for up to $100,000 to explore a new area of collaborative work, with an emphasis on preparing for an externally funded large-scale grant or cooperative agreement.

More than 90 Johns Hopkins faculty members were called upon to serve as reviewers of the record number of Discovery Award applications.

Since the inception of the awards, a Carey faculty member has been named each year as a recipient: Associate Professor Tinglong Dai in 2015, Associate Professor Mario Macis in 2016 and 2018, and Assistant Professor Roman Galperin in 2017.

Colleen Stuart earned her doctorate in organizational behavior from the University of Toronto. She joined the Carey Business School faculty in 2013.


June 28, 2019


  • Research
  • Faculty
  • faculty
  • research