Haiyang Yang, PhD

Associate Professor
Academic AreaMarketing
Academic AreaInnovation & Entrepreneurship
Academic AreaHealth
Areas of InterestMarketing, Decision-Making, Consumer Psychology

Haiyang Yang is an expert on marketing and decision-making. He holds a PhD from INSEAD. His work has appeared in premier academic journals (e.g., Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of Consumer Psychology, Psychological Science) and has been featured in leading media outlets (e.g., Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, Financial Times). He has served on the Editorial Review Board of Journal of Consumer Research, and received many awards such as the Best Competitive Paper Award from Association for Consumer Research, ACR-Sheth Foundation Dissertation Award, Prix du Meilleur Cas Pédagogique en Marketing from Association Française du Marketing, Overall Winner Award from the Case Centre, Faculty Excellence Award as well as Excellence in Teaching Award from Johns Hopkins. The pedagogical materials he developed have been translated into multiple languages and taught in graduate education curricula at leading business schools globally.


  • Ph. D, Marketing, INSEAD
  • MS, Management, INSEAD


Selected publications
  • “The Feeling of Not Knowing It All,” Journal of Consumer Psychology, 2019, (with Ziv Carmon, Dan Ariely, & Mike Norton)
  • “The Visual Asymmetry Effect,” Journal of Marketing Research, 2018, (with Jonathan Luffarelli & Antonios Stamatogiannakis)
  • “How Counterfeits Infect Genuine Products: The Role of Moral Disgust,” Journal of Consumer Psychology, 2018, 28, 2, 329-343 (with Moty Amar, Dan Ariely, & Ziv Carmon)
  •  “Pursuing Attainment versus Maintenance Goals: The Interplay of Self-Construal and Goal Type on Consumer Motivation,” Journal of Consumer Research, 2015, 42, 93-108 (with Antonios Stamatogiannakis & Amitava Chattopadhyay)
  •  “Unconscious Creativity: When can Unconscious Thought Outperform Conscious Thought?” Journal of Consumer Psychology, 2012, 22, 573–581 (with Amitava Chattopadhyay, Kuangjie Zhang, & Darren Dahl)
  •  “For Whom is Parting from Possessions More Painful: Cultural Differences in the Endowment Effect,” Psychological Science, 2010, 21(12), 1910–1917 (with Will Maddux, Carl Falk, Hajo Adam, Wendi Adair, Yumi Endo, Ziv Carmon, & Steve Heine)


  • Marketing Strategy
  • Marketing Management

Honors and distinctions

  • Franco Nicosia Best Competitive Paper Award, Association for Consumer Research
  • Overall Winner Award, The Case Centre
  • Excellence in Teaching Award, Johns Hopkins University
  • Dean’s Award for Faculty Excellence, Johns Hopkins Carey Business School
  • Black & Decker Competitive Research Grant
  • Teaching Innovation Fund Award
  • Prix du Meilleur Cas Pédagogique en Marketing, Association Française du Marketing (Best Marketing Case Award, the French Association of Marketing)
  • Competitive Research Grants, Institute on Asian Consumer Insight
  • Association for Consumer Research – Sheth Foundation Doctoral Dissertation Award
  • Fellow, American Marketing Association – Sheth Doctoral Consortium
  • INSEAD Fellowship