Shubhranshu Singh portrait

Shubhranshu Singh, PhD

Associate Professor
Academic AreaMarketing
Areas of InterestMarketing Strategy, Marketing Management

Shubhranshu Singh, PhD joined the Johns Hopkins Carey Business School in 2013. He is an Associate Professor in the research track with expertise in the area of competitive marketing strategy and specific interest in developing markets. He uses micro-economic theory to study marketing problems. His research has won the 2013 John A. Howard/AMA doctoral dissertation award and the 2012 ISMS doctoral dissertation competition.


  • Ph. D, Business Administration (Marketing), University of California, Berkeley
  • MBA, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • MTech, Solid State Materials, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India
  • MSc, Physics, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India
  • BSc (honors), Physics, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, India


Selected publications

  • “Educational Inequality and Reservation Policy in Developing Markets,” 2023 (with Weining Bao and Jian Ni), Management Science, Forthcoming.
  • “Service Provision in Distribution Channels,” 2022 (with Haresh Gurnani, Sammi Tang, and Huaqing Wang), Journal of Marketing Research, 59(5), 926–940. 
  • “Persuasion Contest: Disclosing Own and Rival Information,” 2022 (with Ganesh Iyer), Marketing Science, 41(4) 254–281.
  • “Conspicuous by Its Absence: Diagnostic Expert Testing under Uncertainty,” 2020 (with Tinglong Dai), Marketing Science, 39(3), 540–563.
  • “Voluntary Product Safety Certification,” 2018, (with Ganesh Iyer), Management Science, 64(2), 695-714.
  • “Informal Lending in Emerging Markets,” 2018, (with Weining Bao and Jian Ni), Marketing Science, 37(1), 123–137.
  • “Competition in Corruptible Markets,” 2017, Marketing Science, 36(3), 361–381.

Working papers

  • “Overdiagnosis and Undertesting for Infectious Diseases,” 2023 (with Tinglong Dai)
  • “Artificial Intelligence on Call: The Physician’s Decision of Whether to Use AI in Clinical Practice,” 2023 (with Tinglong Dai)
  •  “The Pricing and Financing of Education — Student Loans and Income Share Agreements,” 2023 (with Weining Bao and Kinshuk Jerath)
  • “Product Design by Competing Public and Private Providers,” 2023 (with Yogesh Joshi)
  • “Ambiguous Expert Communication,” 2023 (with Xudong Zheng)



  • Strategic Market Intelligence

Honors and distinctions

  • Johns Hopkins Catalyst Award, 2023
  • Management Science Distinguished Service Award, 2021, 2022
  • Marketing Science Service Award, 2021, 2022
  • MSI Young Scholar, 2021
  • Dean’s Award for Faculty Excellence, Johns Hopkins Carey Business School, 2019
  • Finalist, John D.C. Little Best Paper Award, 2017
  • Finalist, Frank M. Bass Dissertation Paper Award, 2017
  • John A. Howard/AMA Doctoral Dissertation Award, 2013
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award, University of California at Berkeley, 2012-2013
  • Winner, ISMS Doctoral Dissertation Competition, 2012