small shield blue hero

2023 Innovations in the Biopharmaceutical Industry Conference

2023 Innovations in the Biopharmaceutical Industry Conference

Friday, November 10, 2023 | 9 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
with a reception to follow

This one-day conference will focus on research, practice, and policy on innovations in the biopharmaceutical industry. The conference will focus on how companies continue to innovate; how policies and regulations can be strengthened to incentivize innovation; and how innovations can reach the patients who need them. The conference will take a three-pronged approach by engaging academic researchers, policymakers, and industry experts in the debate about the future of biopharmaceutical innovation.

Program chairs: Supriya Munshaw (Johns Hopkin Carey Business School), Mariana Socal (Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health), So-Yeon Kang (Georgetown University/Johns Hopkins alum), and Ge Bai (Johns Hopkins Carey Business School)


Fast Facts


November 10, 2023, 09:00 am


Carey Business School, 100 International Drive, Baltimore, MD 21202


November 10, 2023
9:00am - 3:30pm

Friday, November 10, 2023

8 – 9 a.m.: Breakfast and Registration

9 – 9:15 a.m.: Welcome

Speaker:  Alexander Triantis, Dean, Johns Hopkins Carey Business School

9:15 – 10 a.m.: Keynote 1: Towards Person-Centered Biomedical Innovation

Speaker: Tanisha Carino, Partner, Brunswick

10 - 10:15 a.m.: Coffee Break

10:15 – 11 a.m.: Keynote 2: Legislative and Regulatory Landscape and Prospects

Speaker:  Anna Kaltenboeck, Principal and Head of Prescription Drug Reimbursement Practice, ATI Advisory

11 - 11:15 a.m.: Coffee Break

11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.: Panel #1 – Trends and Innovations in the Biopharmaceutical Industry

Moderator: Supriya Munshaw, Johns Hopkins Carey Business School

Panelists: Sally Allain, Regional Head, JLABS; Rujul Desai, Partner, Covington & Burling, LLP; and Yaminah Leggett-Wells, Senior Director, Amgen

12: 15 – 1:15 p.m.: Lunch

1:15 – 2:15 p.m.: Panel #2 – Regulatory Incentives for Biopharmaceutical Innovation

Moderator: Mariana Socal, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Panelists: Josh Bilenker, CEO and Co-founder, Treeline Biosciences; Holly Fernandez-Lynch, Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania; and Sonal Parasrampuria, PhD, FDA Team Lead, Depart of Health and Human Services

2:15 - 2:30 p.m.: Break

2:30 – 3:30 p.m.: Panel #3 – Access and Affordability of Biopharmaceutical Innovation

Moderator: So-Yeon Kang, Ph.D., M.B.A., Georgetown University

Panelists: Leigh Purvis, Prescription Drug Policy Principal, AARP; Joshua Sharfstein, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health; and Jocelyn Ulrich, Deputy Vice President, Policy and Research, PhRMA

3:30 – 5:30 p.m.: Networking Happy Hour